Information Security Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for information security professionals. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In Linux, when the NX-bit triggers the segmentation fault seems to be "error 15", whereas a more typical error, such as attempting to read from invalid memory, results in "error 7", (seen from dmesg output).

What other error codes exist? Where are these error codes defined, and what is their true meaning?

I'd like to see a full list so that when I do get a segmentation fault, I'm able to get some hints about what the reason is. I'm not sure how useful this really is, but I'd still like to know.

share|improve this question

closed as off topic by AJ Henderson, Iszi, Scott Pack, Rory Alsop Jan 7 '13 at 16:51

Questions on Information Security Stack Exchange are expected to relate to Information security within the scope defined by the community. Consider editing the question or leaving comments for improvement if you believe the question can be reworded to fit within the scope. Read more about reopening questions here.If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

This might be better suited for Stack Overflow. – Iszi Jan 7 '13 at 15:16

According to a similar question on StackOverflow, the error codes are architecture specific. The codes should be documented in arch/*/mm/fault.c as part of the kernel source code.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.