Notice removed Authoritative reference needed by Community
    Bounty Ended with dan's answer chosen by Community
5 Rollback to Revision 2
source | link

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos. No friends were added — I just needed the ability to authenticate against Facebook and pull my photos from there into the app. One-off thing.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

Now, uploading a photo does not give a yes/no result straight away:

enter image description here

Even hours later, trying to log in shows that the work is still in progress:

enter image description here

Is that process therefore full manual? Do the moderators actually look at the uploaded photos and compare them with something?

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos. No friends were added — I just needed the ability to authenticate against Facebook and pull my photos from there into the app. One-off thing.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

Now, uploading a photo does not give a yes/no result straight away:

enter image description here

Even hours later, trying to log in shows that the work is still in progress:

enter image description here

Is that process therefore full manual? Do the moderators actually look at the uploaded photos and compare them with something?

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

    Notice added Authoritative reference needed by Greendrake
    Bounty Started worth 100 reputation by Greendrake
4 added 19 characters in body
source | link

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos. No friends were added — I just needed the ability to authenticate against Facebook and pull my photos from there into the app. One-off thing.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

Now, uploading a photo does not give a yes/no result straight away:

enter image description here

Even hours later, trying to log in shows that the work is still in progress:

enter image description here

Is that process therefore full manual? Do the moderators actually look at the uploaded photophotos and compare itthem with something?

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos. No friends were added — I just needed the ability to authenticate against Facebook and pull my photos from there. One-off.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

Now, uploading a photo does not give a yes/no result straight away:

enter image description here

Even hours later, trying to log in shows that the work is still in progress:

enter image description here

Is that process therefore full manual? Do the moderators actually look at the uploaded photo and compare it with something?

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos. No friends were added — I just needed the ability to authenticate against Facebook and pull my photos from there into the app. One-off thing.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

Now, uploading a photo does not give a yes/no result straight away:

enter image description here

Even hours later, trying to log in shows that the work is still in progress:

enter image description here

Is that process therefore full manual? Do the moderators actually look at the uploaded photos and compare them with something?

3 added 452 characters in body
source | link

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos. No friends were added — I just needed the ability to authenticate against Facebook and pull my photos from there. One-off.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

Now, uploading a photo does not give a yes/no result straight away:

enter image description here

Even hours later, trying to log in shows that the work is still in progress:

enter image description here

Is that process therefore full manual? Do the moderators actually look at the uploaded photo and compare it with something?

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

I do not use Facebook but recently I created an account for the purpose of connecting it to an app. I uploaded several photos of myself to Facebook, did what I needed with the app and deleted the photos. No friends were added — I just needed the ability to authenticate against Facebook and pull my photos from there. One-off.

The next day I tried to login to my Facebook account and saw this:

enter image description here

How can Facebook use my photo to check if the account belongs to me? They now should not have any of my photos, right? Does this mean they actually keep deleted content?

Now, uploading a photo does not give a yes/no result straight away:

enter image description here

Even hours later, trying to log in shows that the work is still in progress:

enter image description here

Is that process therefore full manual? Do the moderators actually look at the uploaded photo and compare it with something?

2 edited tags
| link
    Tweeted twitter.com/StackSecurity/status/1110557189016612867
1
source | link