I received a mail from optimizr.net. They say that I have some errors in my web I never click to links on mail. So I went to google and they have a nice web. They say that their tool is to check errors in a website. It is free.

But I cannot find any information about that company. Is it a secure place? How are the owners? How do they make money?

Thank you

closed as primarily opinion-based by Polynomial, Matthew, Xander, Ohnana, schroeder Apr 1 '16 at 4:54

Many good questions generate some degree of opinion based on expert experience, but answers to this question will tend to be almost entirely based on opinions, rather than facts, references, or specific expertise. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • Sending unsolicited (mass) emails is the very definition of spam. Please also see this meta question about "secure" questions. They are often closed as too broad, off-topic, or opinion-based. You may improve your question by eg asking if optimizr has spread malware in the past. How they make money seems off-topic here, as it's not about security. – tim Mar 31 '16 at 15:13

Never use services advertised by spammers. You are just encouraging them. Also, the fact that they resorting to illegal methods like email spam to advertise their services should tell you all you need to know about their business ethics and how much you can trust their advise.

There are lots of other services out there to check your website for common problems, like the W3C validator. But that's a topic for https://webmasters.stackexchange.com


If you check the IP address that optimizr.net resolves to ( - it is on at least one Blacklist. Based on this I would error on the side of caution and say that it is spam.

  • How about sources? – Tobi Nary Mar 31 '16 at 15:10

To answer the question in the title with a wiki quote:

Electronic spamming is the use of electronic messaging systems to send unsolicited messages

So, yes, that is spam.

Let's have a closer look:

  • You get unsolicited email
  • The site owners are protected by a whois proxy
  • It seems fishy to you
  • Such a service is available already from a known company for free

The first one is a no-brainer, that's the (a) definition of spam. The others are indicators to just walk away and go with the non-fishy alternative.

On the other hand, the IP the domain resolves to ( is clean for most blacklists and hosted in Germany, where regulations on websites are rather strict.

Yet, the HTML that is delivered to curl of their main page does not comply to those strict laws. That may be another clue to just leave it alone, and maybe tip their hoster about it.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.