I was trying to download Qt framework. I went to its Official site (I'm sure, I checked in Wikipedia) for Visual Studio. But when attempting to download Qt for Windows, my Firefox shows this message:

enter image description here

I also scanned using the IP address shown by Firefox and found something suspicious like this: "Latest URLs hosted in this IP address detected by at least one URL scanner or malicious URL dataset."

My questions:
Qt is a famous and recognized framework then how could it serve as malicious or attack page? Can I download from the website? or something is suspicious?

EDIT: Is this a bundler?

I have verified both its SHA-1 and MD-5 hash from the Qt home page. I tried to install Qt on my Windows, but my anti-virus found something strange when installing it? What it does mean?

Is open source download come along with a bundler? because making collisions for one algorithm is OK but all the Hashes are same MD,SHA-1,SHA-256 or it is just a false positive?

EDIT THREE: [HASH CONFIRMATION]: enter image description here enter image description here

  • 2
    Judging from a quick superficial WHOIS, seems to be unrelated to Qt. Registered to ChinaNet. I get a different IP by resolving Qt's official site (qt.io); Could you confirm that that's the domain you tried?
    – Fluffy
    Commented May 19, 2016 at 12:20
  • @Fluffy No, If we download something(from open source) it redirects to Thank you Commented May 19, 2016 at 12:23
  • Wikipedia points to qt.io and has not been edited in a while. The page seems to be clean and has a different IP from the one that you gave. Plus the Virustotal scan showed no warnings, seemingly negating the warning from Firefox. Are you sure you went to qt.io?
    – AstroDan
    Commented May 19, 2016 at 12:24
  • @AstroDan No, If we download something(from open source for VS) it redirects to and suspicious message in firefox displays Thank you Commented May 19, 2016 at 12:27
  • The open source .exe is also hosted on "download.qt.io/official_releases/online_installers/…" for me. I cannot reproduce your issue but perhaps the lack of https could leave an opportunity for you to be MitM'd.
    – Fluffy
    Commented May 19, 2016 at 12:28

1 Answer 1


Before going brief ,I have noted the following things from your question :

  • You were visiting the mirror site of some malicious website

  • The official link differs from the url which you have downloaded

I was able to reproduce the problem while analysing the mirror site and it was flagged as malware as per the virustotal report

enter image description here

Now as you haven't downloaded the image[my rough guess] ,you might be safe from the vulnerable file ,if you have accidentally downloaded it try to remove the file completely and run some AV Scans.

Other than that there were less chances for you as MITM victim,If you still doubt it run a quick traceroute to your router ,if it shows external IP you might be a victim,Also have a look at the MITM question which was asked before over here .Also download the file from official site and verify by generating its checksum.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .