I was logging in to my gmail and this phising alert screen showed. Is safe to continue? I know that is very rare that this shows when opening GMail, but I prefer to be safe.

It seems that this appeared in the screen that asks me to enter again the password

enter image description here

  • 4
    Could be a MITM attack. Doubtful Gmail itself has been hacked. If it was, you probably wouldn't see this. – Alexander O'Mara May 21 '16 at 0:01
  • 1
    Looks like you are accessing the site via HTTP which could allow an attacker able to modify your traffic to serve you a phishing page. Try adding the "https://" to the URL and see how it goes. – André Borie May 21 '16 at 18:16

Probably only false positive, it happened also before with gmail, facebook etc.

This was from 2010 (Opera - Facebook):

We are aware of the false positive Fraud warning. Should be fixed ASAP. For now use http://www.facebook.com and not http://www.facebook.com/?ref=logo We are sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused..


No, it is not safe. Once I saw the same problem. URL is quite good. But check it through you browser debugger. It is possible that some plugins can be responsible for that warning. Check your browsers settings, hosts file.

Just for your information visit this link.

  • 1
    Please include the critical information the OP might need from the link inside your answer, as this link might and will break. – grooveplex May 21 '16 at 7:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.