2

I used Chrome in Sandboxie, and even after deleted contents of the sandbox, youtube.com still recommended videos for me, which based on vids I saw.

Only after I deleted all history in Chrome then youtube did not recommend these vids.

All of these actions are in sandbox, then how can youtube track user even when I delete all contents of the sandbox? At first I think youtube is based on my IP so deleting contents is useless. But youtube will not give those recommended vids when I deleted browsing history when browse in sandbox, which seems it is not based on my IP anymore?

There must be some info stored somewhere, because after deleting all contents, youtube should not be able to recognize any history, which will equivalent to delete browsing history.

I don't think youtube can penetrate sandboxie, so the only other option is that there is info stored in server. Someone can give it a try and explain it to me:

1/ Install chrome and sandboxie, both are free.

2/ Run Chrome in sandbox mode, go to youtube.com, search and watch some vids, e.g. martial art, so you tube will recommend those kind of vids to you.

3/ Delete all contents of sandbox.

4/ Run Chrome in sandbox again, go to youtube.com and you will see those recommended vids. How can this possible? youtube.com must recognize user based on IP or something else.

5/ Go to history, check and clear everything.

6/ Go back to youtube.com, those recommended vids disappear. How can this possible? Where did the recognition info be stored that cant be deleted?

  • were you logged into your Google account on Chrome? – schroeder Nov 14 '16 at 21:53
  • Did you have a youtube cookie stored in Chrome before you started the sandboxed chrome? The identifing cookie is stored on the client, the history on the server. – CodesInChaos Nov 15 '16 at 8:09
-2
  • Chrome is generally not too secure

  • You have an IP address that is tracked, many general spam recommendations will be based on that

  • History is irrelevant and so are cookies (in this case), but cache is not

  • Your browser has an unique ID that you can be identified by (this is used by the very advanced trackers)

What to do:

  • Use a private browser instance (and I recommend you use Opera - way more secure)

  • Do not be logged in into absolutely anything (no google, fb, y, skype etc)

  • Use a web proxy on the private instance (Opera has extensions with multiple selectable big proxies - browsec as example)

  • Use an unique ID changer to identify your browser as a general version wide-spread one (yes, there's an extension for that too)

  • 3
    Chrome is generally not too secure , Google will go bankrupt and chrome would die tomorrow ! – Gerorge Timber Nov 15 '16 at 18:27
  • 1
    @schroeder if the browser is stupid enough to read the general history in private mode it's clearly a security problem, which only confirms what I was stating above. – Overmind Nov 16 '16 at 8:19
  • 1
    @George check CISCO security site to see what I'm talking about. – Overmind Nov 16 '16 at 8:20
  • 3
    What I'm saying is that none of your points explain why clearing the history affected the behaviour. In fact, it seems like clearing the history would not have had any effect on your suggestions. So, it looks like you haven't answered the question at all, unless I missed how you are connecting the dots. (Note that private mode was not invoked, only a sandbox). – schroeder Nov 16 '16 at 17:37
  • 1
    If you don't have private mode on most of the things tracking-related are still active. There is no benefit to use sandbox if you're not on a private mode. – Overmind Feb 13 '17 at 13:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.