Chrome specifies that it maintains a internal "hard-coded" list of root certificates that are "EV-Qualified".


Is there any up-to-date list of these certificates that is publicly available?

To be totally clear - This question pertains specifically to Extended Validation Certificates I understand that we can manipulate our trusted certificates for non EV.

Also, has anyone experienced what happens when Chrome encounters an EV cert which has a user-defined trusted root which is not in the "hard-coded" list? I'm wondering how this would work behind a "SSL-Inspecting" security device.

1 Answer 1


You can easily find them in the source code of Chromium:


If the EV Root Certificate isn't in that list it will simply be used like any other root certificate, i.e. no fancy name company name in the address bar.

  • 2
    Welcome to security.se! To make your answer a little more self-contained, can you also answer the last paragraph of the question? Dec 10, 2018 at 21:24
  • @MikeOunsworth, done. Dec 11, 2018 at 16:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .