I'm trying to download FileZilla for my MacBook and I have McAfee installed. When I click on the download button, the antivirus flags it as Artemis!70506fb398e5 so I decided to upload the file to VirusTotal and I get this:

enter image description here

Of course I'm downloading it from: https://filezilla-project.org/download.php?platform=osx (the free version)

Does anyone have any idea if this is a false flag or something?

1 Answer 1


The download is shown by many scanners as Adware. The download page you use has a small notice below the download

This installer may include bundled offers. Check below for more options.

Based on this it is likely that the bundled offer is the cause of the warning. If you follow the hint to check below for more options you get to another download page where a different version is offered. This version does not seem to have the Adware problems.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .