1

I moved pictures from my stock iOS photos app to an old photo vault app. I used my LTE to move the pictures and was wondering if whenever I opened the app on WiFi, if my school could potentially see all of the images moved there. I can move pictures from my stock photos app to the photo vault while on airplane mode so I don’t believe they are being uploaded anywhere else. I have also deleted the images in question from my phone and all clouds.

The app in question has been removed in the App Store and is pretty old but here’s a link about it: https://appadvice.com/app/secret-calculator-photo-vault-lock-hide-pictures/470578793

1

I can move pictures from my stock photos app to the photo vault while on airplane mode so I don’t believe they are being uploaded anywhere else.

If you're not transfering your photos through your school's Wifi, they can't see something. Just be sure, this app doesn't do any background connections with their "cloud".

The question you actually need to consider -to prevent sniffing when transfering- is if this old photo vault app transfer the photos through HTTPS protocol. As the link didn't provide any usefull information about the security they're using, you can achieve that with one of most well known programs that analyze packets (eg. Wireshark). If it's using https; you're -propably- safe from sniffing.
(except all the other factors; where are they storing the photos, who got access, what kind of encryption etc.)

Your school can -and should- log the transfers and see where the connections are going or coming.

  • Right, I figured they’d be able to see something whether the app uses http or https while transferring the files over their Wifi. Just by opening the app on their Wifi, would they be able to see the images? I don’t have my own network currently and am unsure whether using Starbucks wifi would work – Mike Oct 24 '18 at 19:43
  • @Mike In general, noone in the network can see what applications you're opening on your phone, and collect information from them. But, propably any application that synchronise files between two devices, when they're starting, they check -most of times- automatically if files are still same in both locations. Unfortunately, I did my little research on this application, and didn't managed to find any useful information about the topic. – mike Oct 24 '18 at 20:20
  • How is that so? I thought every time an app connected to the internet, something was logged. Additionally, this is the only device that I have this app on, so will it still check? – Mike Oct 24 '18 at 21:46
  • When I said between two devices, I meant your phone and application's server. So, it will probably check anytime you open it for new files through Internet. – mike Oct 25 '18 at 5:59
  • But still is really product specific question and no one probably can answer what this app actually doing. We can only assume. – mike Oct 25 '18 at 6:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.