I searched this site to find if the following site is legitimate and didn't see any posts. A legitimate company is linking to this site on their front page with a warning - the site linked to:


From the site - information:

Browser-update.org is a tool to unobtrusively notify visitors that they should update their web browser in order to use your website.

This is done with care not to annoy, lock out or erroneously notify visitors!

This has a very suspicious feel to it. If it's a legitimate site, it certainly doesn't seem to be. Does anyone know if this is legitimate? I want to contact the company about them linking to this site, as it may be negatively impacting other users.

  • 2
    Could you explain what your "suspicious feel" is based on? – Anders Nov 28 '18 at 15:01
  • Just asking: Is it secure to link a maybe suspicious site here? I don't think so. – Lithilion Nov 28 '18 at 15:46

Ok from my limited time research of the website it seems to legitmate in respect of its intention. It offers no downloads from any source, it currently has tracking cookies cloudflares and a php session. Also a counter js script that is going to fc.webmasterpro.de which is strange but not dangerous.

Here is the GITHUB: https://github.com/browser-update/browser-update/

It seems to have very active contributors, i would most likely assume its a new site given its new SSL cert from cloudflare flexiable certs being dated the 20th of Nov.

My verdict is don't download anything from their but otherwise it looks safe to me.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.