0

I was just binge watching Netflix from my MacBook Pro on a TV streamed using HDMI. It automatically started the final episode of the season but about 20 seconds into it, a screenshot from a local video file on my computer appeared on my screen for about 3 seconds, after which the Netflix show continued. The screenshot was from a personal video on my local machine that I haven't opened in a month and wasn't opened at the time.

Not sure how to explain what happened. Tried rewinding the Netflix video but did not see the screenshot again. Has my machine been compromised in some way?

  • How about inspecting what's going on under the hood.... 8thlight.com/blog/colin-jones/2015/11/06/… – Ed Daniel Jan 4 at 12:22
  • Noticing this behavior in android too, it seems to depend on the codec on my side. Allthough it doesn't show video files on my phone, it does often show a background app where the videoplayer is supposed to be. – Nomad Jan 4 at 12:53
  • Did you take the screenshot? Was the screenshot an automated frame grab for an icon? ... if either of these are the source of the screenshot, then it's probably accidental and/or erroneous upnp control .... – RubberStamp Jan 4 at 14:56
  • Nope, never took a screenshot nor is it the icon for the video. If it helps, the frame grab had colors similar to the frames of the Netflix video playing. – Surag Jan 4 at 15:17
  • 1
    It sounds like a simple bug, not a compromised system. – forest Jan 4 at 21:54
2

Vanishingly unlikely that this is an indication of some kind of compromise. (The only contrived way I could imagine something like this would be very strange copying of your file through the memory netflix tried to read, but so many parts of that don't even make sense).

It'll be a weird bug (i.e. unintended outcome of software, with no malice involved).

You mentioned this is from some app that streams it from your mac - was the other video the last thing that app had open? Was it the last thing you used this was on your TV, in a way where the tv might've cached it? .. I'd bet it could be some kind of caching / attempt bysoftware to pre-load the last thing you watched into ram; speculation, but the chances of 'hacking' being the reason for this specifically is vanishingly close to zero.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.