0

When I delete a file, I rename it to new.txt, open the file in a text editor, press Ctrl+A, Backspace, Ctrl+S to delete all the content and save it as an empty file and then Shift+Delete to permanently delete the file.

Can someone now recover the file with the actual content?

  • 1
    This is potentially covered under many of the realted posts in the right hand sidebar. It will depend on where your OS stores temporary files, old versions etc. Generally, a forensic examination will be able to retrieve older versions... – Rory Alsop May 10 at 16:22
  • As the question is already covered, Should I delete it? – ifsanjry May 10 at 16:25
  • 1
    If you like. I think this one will give you the answer you need, but have a read through a few: security.stackexchange.com/questions/110786 – Rory Alsop May 10 at 16:27
  • Thank you, I have gone through the answers. I think my question is a little bit different and you already answered my question in your 1st comment. – ifsanjry May 10 at 16:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.