I got an mass email from an friend containing only this link (made not clicable on purpose):


I imagine she is got some kind of virus, but since I'm curious and not very careful I clicked on.

The PHP that loaded redirected me to another site.

PHP page:

<h1> You are here because one of your friends <br> have invited you.<br> Page loading, please wait.... </h1> <meta http-equiv="refresh" content="0; url=http://newsmarketgenonline10go.eu/?12/2">

That other site in turn gave a '302 moved temporarily' and redirected me to Google.

Whois doesn't reveal anything about the domain, dig on the MX shows that they use a dynamic DNS. Didn't get any extra info on the A record, besides that is from Latvia: ns1.altnet.lv. admin.altnet.lv

What could them be after? Confirming email addresses?


The first link uses a redirect webpage that is detected by many antivirus products as:

  • Sophos: Troj/Redir-O
  • Microsoft: Trojan:HTML/BlacoleRef.A
  • Kaspersky: Trojan.HTML.Redirector.an
  • AntiVir: HTML/FriendLoad.A

The text <h1> You are here because one of your friends <br> have invited you.<br> Page loading, please wait.... is the thing that is being detected so it was probably used before in a malware or spam campaign to redirect to different websites.

An analysis of an older but similar redirector is here.

[...] will redirect you to the following website that masquerades as a CNBC website article, For example:

  • marketnewsonline10.com
  • marketnewsonline11.com
  • marketnewsnext7online.com

The site it redirect to, http://newsmarketgenonline10go.eu is detected by Websense ThreatSeeker as a phishing site.

Other similar domains used in the same campaign are also detected as phishing:

  • Phishtank: Phishing site
  • Comodo Site Inspector: Phishing site
  • Websense ThreatSeeker: Phishing site

This looks to me like an abandoned phishing campaign.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.