1

I got the following SMS from number 32665 (FBOOK):

"Confirmed! To edit SMS preferences go to m.facebook.com/settings. To turn off all SMS messages reply stop. Reply help for other option. SMS charges may apply"

I'm worried someone hacked into my account, since I did not do anything in the last weeks that would generate this message. I think this SMS means somebody enters a confirmation code in a new deviced to be recognized. For example, the message is generated in the following simple hack. That hack which was fixed quickly.

Is there a way I can find out why this SMS was sent? Sadly, the activity log doesn't show security-related actions (such as logins). I didn't see any unknown devices under "Security > Your Browsers and Apps", but someone could potentially delete himself after checking something out. I had login notifications & login alerts on all the time.

closed as off-topic by schroeder, Eric G, Xander, ThoriumBR, Rоry McCune Jul 10 '15 at 19:07

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "This question does not appear to be about Information security within the scope defined in the help center." – schroeder, Eric G, Xander, ThoriumBR, Rоry McCune
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 1
    This is more of a question for Facebook support. – schroeder Jul 10 '15 at 15:08
1

If you had notification alerts on, you would receive the login alert over SMS / E-mail (depends on you what have you chosen).

And if you suspect that someone hacked into your account immediately change your password.

Now, to answer your question:

"Is there a way I can see why this SMS was sent?"

There are no results for this question and I can't help you with this but I guess someone really accessed your account. And argument for being suspicious right now is the activity/behaviour you described.

It's also recommended to enable the SMS alert when new device connects. Maybe the Facebook security tips are known to you already, but I prefer you to check them again. LINK

Also verify your email related to the FB account. An attacker could gain access by using your hacked email...

Sadly, the activity log doesn't show things like that. I didn't see any unknown devices under Security > Your Browsers and Apps, but someone could potentially delete himself. I had login notifications & login alerts on all the time.

SMS or Email alerts? by hacking your email the attacker could delete logs.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.