0

According to an answer to this question : Bypass app permissions, I changed by curiosity the application permission of Facebook and Messenger for the camera to always ask. I'm using CyanogenMod 12.0. Facebook was still able to open the camera without asking me. I then changed it's permission to Ignore, but still the camera opened.

Does anyone know why this is working and if there is anything a user can do against it?

  • Was the Facebook app restarted between attempts? Or maybe the phone? – WhiteWinterWolf Aug 24 '15 at 13:57
  • @WhiteWinterWolf Yes. I tried to restart the app as well as the phone. – Thanathan Aug 24 '15 at 14:01
  • I sadly cannot find the english label for this, but have you a check-box like "Enable Privacy Guard", "Enable Management" or "Enable data protection" on the app details page (right below "Display the notifications")? Is it checked? – WhiteWinterWolf Aug 24 '15 at 14:22
  • 1
    There are some pretty security concious people who work on CyanogenMod. I suspect we'd get a better answer by looking on the CM forums or mail list. – Mike Ounsworth Aug 24 '15 at 14:33
  • 2
    Beats me, on my side I get nice popups requiring confirmation. You should definitively ask this question on Android Enthusiasts since I think this is merely a CynogenMod issue than a general IT Security one. Be sure to add the version of CyanogeMod you are currently using, and check if you have any other security-related app which may interfere with the common expected behaviour. – WhiteWinterWolf Aug 24 '15 at 14:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.